Always the Bridesmaid; Never the Bride

Dead_flowersLately it seems like I’m always the bridesmaid, and never the bride when it comes to open jobs. Now stay with me here…. What I mean is that most of the jobs I’ve interviewed for recently have had two other candidates vying for the same position, and each time I’ve come up with the short end of the stick. It’s almost like I’m a stunt double, understudy, bench warmer, bridesmaid (just can’t stop with the similes) instead of the main candidate. My purpose must be to make the other job candidates look good. I imagine the conversation at the job site goes something like this:

HR Recruiter: “We’ve got two people who look really strong for the open position, but our policy requires we interview a minimum of three people for each open requisition. What should we do?”

Hiring Manager: “I don’t know….just close your eyes and pick a third person from the resume pile.

And so I get the call to come in for an interview.

At least that’s how it feels.

One response to “Always the Bridesmaid; Never the Bride

Leave a Reply

